Land Area & Location

Land Area
Aurora Province has a total land area of 323,954 hectares, representing about one percent of the country's total land area.

Aurora Province is located on the East-Central side of Luzon Island. It is the north-eastern most province of Central Luzon (Region III). It is bordered on the north by the provinces of Isabela and Qurino, on the west by Nueva Ecija and Nueva Viscaya, on the south by Bulacan and Quezon, and on the east by the Pacific Ocean. The province's main link to the rest of Luzon is through a narrow mountain gravel road that twists through the Sierra Madre Mountain Range. The road is located between Baler and Bongabon, Nueva Ecija.


The province of Aurora covers the eastern portion of the Sierra Madre Mountains, hence it is generally mountainous. There are flat lands unevenly distributed throughout the province. Its coastline spans 332 kilometers in length. The municipality of Dingalan, in the south, has the most irregular topography.

The main drainage systems of Aurora consist of six rivers:

  • Aguang River, Baler
  • Calabgan River, Casiguran
  • Ditale River, Dipaculao
  • Dibatuan River, Dipaculao
  • Ibuna River, Dingalan
  • Sinagnuan River, Dingalan


Aurora's climate is characterized by rainfall that is evenly distributed throughout the year, since Aurora faces the Pacific Ocean and has no barriers to shield it from typhoons coming from the east. Tropical cyclones are also a seasonal occurrence.

The average monthly rainfall is 273.9 millimeters. Rainfall is heaviest during the months of January, February, April, October, and November, while August is the driest month.

Wind Current
The province experiences two main wind currents. From November to April, the trade wind generally reaches the province from an easterly direction. The wind then moves in a southwesterly direction for the rest of the year. In Casiguran, the wind comes from the north from October to March and the South from April to September. The average annual wind speed is four knots.

The mean monthly temperature of Aurora is 25.3 degrees Celsius. The coldest months are January and February, with a temperature ranging from 19.3 to 20.4 degrees Celsius. The warmest months are from June to July, with temperature from 30 to 33 degrees Celsius.